Winchester Writers Festival – A First-timers’ Guide

Last year, I attended Winchester Writers Festival for the first time. As the Festival approaches again this year, I thought it would be good to share what I learned last year about how to get the most out of the weekend.

1) Make the most of social media before you go.

I used Twitter to connect with other attendees before the Festival and it was a massive help. Like the majority of people, I find attending things where I don’t know anybody pretty daunting, but using social media took the sting out of this.

2) First impressions matter.

I know I barely even need to include this on the list, but sometimes it’s worth being reminded of! Whether speaking to fellow delegates, talking to the staff and volunteers who run the Festival, or pitching to agents in your one-to-one appointments, don’t forget how important first impressions are.
Last year, somebody queue jumped me at the information desk, was then rude to the member of staff who served him, and I later saw him trying to hit on a very unimpressed woman working behind the bar. Don’t be that guy!

3) “If I implement the changes you’ve suggested, would you be interested in seeing my work again?”

I owe an absolute debt of gratitude to my friend Elizabeth, who taught me this phrase over lunch on my first day at the Festival. Ask the question at the end of your one-to-one and you may get another opportunity to share your work with the agent you’ve met with. If Elizabeth hadn’t shared this with me, I would have had no idea that this question could be asked! If the agent agrees that they want to see your work again, then clarify how best to send it to them.

4) Expect constructive feedback and receive it well.

One of my friends was told last year by an agent that the young people at the Festival were much better at receiving feedback than older adults.
I know I’m not alone in hoping that an agent will gush over my work in a one-to-one and hand me a contract for representation immediately. Some writers do find representation following links established at Winchester, but I haven’t heard of anyone encountering the pipe dream described above! What is more likely to happen is that you will receive a range of constructive feedback from an industry professional. They will pick up on things you’ve done well and highlight areas for improvement and parts of the extract that didn’t work for them. Take lots of notes and be willing to learn. Most importantly, don’t take it personally.

I met four agents last year and they were all very pleasant. I had never pitched to agents before and was rather terrified at the prospect, but it really is nothing to worry about. I have heard of a one-to-one that somebody had that was a catastrophic disaster, but the agent sounded like an absolute bully; you dont want somebody like that representing you anyway!

5) There’s plenty of food.

There are plenty of breaks and the catering staff provided wonderful snacks and meals regularly. Everything was delicious, but if you are a fruit fiend, you might like to bring your own snacks!

6) Dress in layers.

This might not be an issue this year, but last year the Festival was in the middle of the heat wave and the air conditioning in the building was cranked right up, so the classrooms were very cold. By contrast, the room where the one-to-ones were held was stifling, as was outside. Be prepared!

7) Remember that you will get out what you put in

This is self-explanatory, but worth being reminded of. Think about what you want to get out of the Festival: is making friends your first aim? Or honing a specific writing skills? Work hard to make it happen and remember that the Festival only rolls around once a year- don’t waste the opportunity that the Festival presents.

One thought on “Winchester Writers Festival – A First-timers’ Guide

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑